• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Advice Needed which one to buy

EI52N7W

Jun 30, 2013
Ireland
Have an option to buy a yaesu ft900at or a icom mk2G what would you go for?

Im leaning toward the 900at just because of the atu built in, Both are in exceptional condition and more or less same price

Best Regards To All

Last edited:

I have no experience with the Yaesu but I use a 706mkIIg everyday in the car. I would venture to guess that the Yaesu is a better rig but the 706 is no slouch. The built in AT is a plus but most built in AT's have a limited range compared to external ones. The 706 does have a good receiver but can be a bit noisy at times. Would I buy another 706? Yes I would, its a good rig with lots of audio and a decent receiver.

Another thing to consider is the 706 mkIIg will give you 6,2 and 440.

Most if not all Built-in antenna tuners are really line flatteners, very limited range.
If it were me I would listen to both radios on busy HF freqs like 40 meters
and decide, everyone's ears are different and the one you decide on you
will more or less have to live with for a while

Good Fortune on your choice.............

...Im leaning toward the 900at just because of the atu built in, Both are in exceptional condition and more or less same price...

the MKIIg is not even being produced any more. dunno about the 900at.

unless the price is REALLY good, I would look at the IC7k(y)

the MKIIg is not even being produced any more. dunno about the 900at.

unless the price is REALLY good, I would look at the IC7k(y)
The 7k is a good option but there are a lot of 706's on the air and still working good. I agree though about the price as it is an older rig as is the 900AT.