• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Antenna suggestions for taking SWL to the next level

michael64

May 7, 2012
Hello,

This is my first post on these forums. I must say it wasn't easy find a radio forum that had current posts, seemed to be busy discussing a wide-range of radio topics, and allowed me to join up fairly easily. I look forward to joining the discussion.

I have been listening to shortwave for thirty years, but have only used portables. That's been ok for me in the past, but now I want to branch out. I dabbled into decoding RTTY using a portable and a computer program, and I enjoyed that quite a bit. I also bought my first radio which can be programmed by computer a few years back (An Icom RC-2, still a fun thing to play with).

Since I have had positive experiences working with PCs and radios, I picked up a used Ten-Tec RX-230 recently. I fully expected to need to install a good outdoor antenna to enjoy this receiver, and that's where I am today.

I'm considering a variety of possibilities. I'm just a beginner, but I think I'm finally beginning to grasp the very basics. I'd like to set up an antenna that will make help the RX-320 pull in some interesting things. I know I need to minimize noise as much as I need to boost signal.

I'm interesting in the shortwave bands in general, but definitely want to listen in on the tropical band, pirates, numbers stations, military and aircraft, and as soon as I install the cable i just ordered, DRM.

Step one, I think, is:

-planting a ground rod
-installing a grounding block on the windowsill

Here's where it gets fuzzy. Possibilities are:

-hooking up a wire to the gutters (someone suggested that on some page I read)
-building a magnetic loop antenna
-a longwire
-a dipole