• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Bought a HF Rig.....Except the Antenna

Robb

Honorary Member Silent Key
Dec 18, 2008
Silicon Valley CA, Storm Lake IA
You've probably read on another thread here on WWRF, that I bought a Icom IC-718, LDG Z-100, and a Samlex 25 amp supply recently. And yes, I am an Tech Amateur. There have been more than a few threads about MF/HF multiband antennas here, and I have read a lot of them. I also posted a similar thread on qrz forums on this subject. But I would like all of your inputs - if you would, as members of WWRF that I read and enjoy the most.

Here's my problem: My property is rectangular shaped(of course); it is far shorter north to south and wider east to west. The dimensions are 55 feet due N/S; and 100 ft due E/W - that's the perspective view. A dipole would have to be oriented twards the E/W because of the property shape; and that won't work as far as I can see from here. But I want/need and E/W orientation for the US, Europe, and Japan - this is what I see as the plan IF a dipole is selected. And 55 ft isn't enough room and would be awkward - if not impossible - to set up. That's my problem...

The folded dipole has been my consideration because of its great low SWR, can use it on 160 meters (or even a smaller 80 meter version - for that matter) all the way down to 2 meters - but will not fit on my property - due to the short N/S length. So, I am considering verticals rather than dipoles that give me the best bang-for-buck as well as the greatest band usage for about $300-$350 cost. I want to mount it on my chimney and use 20 ft of masting w/guy support.