• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

BUILDING MY FIRST TUBE AMP, ADVICE AND HELP

680MAINE

May 31, 2006
6 YRS AGO i bought a basket case homebrew 4 tube 811a amplifier. Mostly bc I thought it had a cool nostalgia look to it and to rebuild it and mount it in my rack for when I needed those extra watts to make contacts. Well it's been through 2 moves now, severely damaged by one of those moves and is more of a basket case than ever before. Now that I have more time and some extra money o would really like to rebuild it and put it back into service. Here is my dilemma, I have never built/rebuilt a tube amplifier before. I have some experience building mobile amps all the up to a 8pill, but tubes are a whole other animal. I know the basics that high voltage will kill me. So I will be looking for some serious help along the way. I will post detailed pictures so that those that know will be able to help me through it. I'll take some pictures of it and post them so everyone can see what I'm working with.

Reactions: 1 person

Ok here are some pictures of the amp that I'm going to attempt to rebuild using 572b's instead of the 811a's

front of amp
da_21.jpg

looking down onto the tubes and coils
tubes.jpg

looking at the bottom of the RF deck, there is some rust and corrosions as well as a spot where it looks like the smoke was let out of a resister, there is a brown/burnt looking spot.
plates.jpg

the transformer
f7_12_sb1.jpg

looking at the pl259 plugs and the transformers, tubes, rf deck
back.jpg