• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

complete novice here

GA1dad

Jun 2, 2009
Greetings from Upstate South Carolina,,,,,,,,,,,

40 yr. old male considering a new hobby.:headbang

I was given a couple of old mobile CB's the other day. My primary interest in them was to have a form of communication if the satellites quit working. I'm kind-of a "end of times" subscriber as well. Lately I have been considering the threats of an EMP,,,, especially with north koreas latest launches.

Anyway,,,,,in the process of getting the CB's wired up and working,,,, I kinda got the itch to research ham and such. My wife was the youngest female to get a ametuer license in Wisconsin,,,,,, but that was in 1980 and she doesn't remember much.

I guess my opening question would be what are the differences and purposes of the different wave/bands,,,,,, I'm not sure what to call them. But I see them listed here as Ham,CB,HF,VHF,and UHF. It's all greek to me,,,so any info you offer would be a learning experience for me.

Also,,,,, (and I know this is a loaded question with multiple answers),,,,,,, which one would be a good one to start with,,, and why??? My interest would be distance I think.

And I guess finally,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, why do you do it???

Thanks in advance,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,JAY

which one would be a good one to start with,,, and why??? My interest would be distance I think

So, you want distance, eh?

Well, stand in line!

since you already have CBs, start with those!

Also, unless you burry one wrapped in tin foil, an emp will render all this stuff useless...

once you figure out them CBs, then think about getting into ham; it's more funner...

I guess my opening question would be what are the differences and purposes of the different wave/bands,,,,,,