• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Dipole Configuration

blkhwkdr

Mar 18, 2006
325 Texas
I plan on taking my morse exam next weekend. <fingers crossed> To finish my upgrade to a General ticket.

I have a 40 meter CW qrp rig setup w/a dipole just for listening and copy practice. I'd like to ask about dipole antenna configurations.

Currently it's just loosly strung along the roof eave outside about 8 feet off the ground. :p

I understand what horizontal does and inverted V I sorta get.

But when I read that sloped, which would actually be the best, space wise for me, is directional, does this mean I will lose alot of the DX I could hear from the sides, if I was say, flat or V mounted?

I'm new to the whole Ham group, and working like crazy to upgrade to General. Theory in a book is harder to understand than good ol plain Elmer advice.

Thanks a million and 73

A sloped dipole ,or sloper, will have a slight directivity if the support is metal like a tower etc.This is only about 3-6 dB or about one S-unit.If the support is a tree or other non-conductive material there will be essentially no directivity at all.Once you start adding resonant lengths into the mix then things will change but for a simple sloper dipole you need not worry about missing out on signals from certain areas.

A dipole is by it's nature, directional. It's TX/RX pattern is to the sides, not off the ends. If your dipole is mounted vertical, then it be comes omni-directional Higher is better, but you will do fine if you can get a horizontal dipole up 1/2 wavelength minimum. The inverted V is more non-directional, and does not have to be as high to perform well.

Rich

Rich,