• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

First HF rig advice

W4LKR

Jun 25, 2012
I'm new to ham radio and looking to buy a modest HF base unit for DXing. Just curious if anyone has any advice or feedback if I'm choosing between two used Kenwood units on ebay:

TS-690S and TS-450S

Both have many 5/5 reviews on Eham. In fact, that's true for a lot of the models I've found on ebay. With so many positive reviews on so man models I get the feeling a lot of hams out there buy a radio and it does what they want it to do for years so they give 5/5. Hopefully that will be my experience too.

Please feel free to suggest something else, those are just the two models that jumped out at me for being in really good condition and more recent than many I've seen on ebay. There's a lot of late 1970's Kenwoods and Yaesu's on ebay found in estate sales or "I'm selling this for a friend who's husband died". I'm sure there are some great deals to be had but I'm wary of buying from a seller who really has no idea of the unit still RX and TX. All they know is a few lights come on, you know?

Thanks for your help.

Both of those rigs are nice, but they are getting old. What's your budget? Might be a few more modern rigs that would make a better investment.

You kinda got to keep an open mind when referring to Eham reviews, they tend to be skewed.

I was hoping to stay under $1,000 for radio + antenna + cabling. I already have power supply.

I'm open to a newer radio its just so overwhelming at the beginner level. I noticed this radio early on for being one of the most affordable brand new radios available right now, but again I'm coming from a total lack of experience.

Icom....Yaesu....Kenwood.....ehhh ?

I hear nothing but rave reviews about Ten-Tec but I think they're beyond my reach right now.