• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Francis cb50 8 foot whip

Nibbs

Jul 12, 2005
Upstate New York
I just baught this antenna, and was looking for some feedback. I was going to get a 102" ss whip, but after talking to some people, went with a fiberglass whip. I do a lot of off roadin, and I guess the fiberglass antenna does not whip around as much as just the steel one. Is this a good cb antenna to use? I will be using it on the road, as well as off road, and all im looking for is good distance, dosnt have to be crystal clear, just has to work, besides, im a newdie, wouldnt know the differance any how.

well, im a newbie, and I just want somethig that works great. A lot of people told me that theese antennas have the same performance of a ss whip, while being more rigid. I will probably mount it on a spring so that if it hits anything, the spring should absorb some of that shock, and while cruisin in the hammer lane, the antenna wont be laying flat. Also...it matches my truck :p

Ok, heres what i'm thinking as for mounting. I was planning on mounting it in the center of my truck bed, up as close to the cab as possible. Now I am torn between mounting it in the bed itself, or up on a custome mounting bracket that would make the base level with the lip, Obviously the latter would probably perform better from what ive read, but would mounting it in the bed make a huge differance?