• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Gamma match really necessary?

W4LKR

Jun 25, 2012
I'm a beginner building a portable dual-band Yagi for 2m/70cm to work the satellites with a handheld radio, similar to the one Arrow sells. I've read several articles and how-to guides, some of which say to install a gamma match and others do not. I'm getting the impression the gamma match is helpful but not required and that an antenna that lacks a gamma match will still be a huge improvement over the rubber duck on my handheld.

What I have not found is a good article explaining how to determine the dimensions for a gamma match and install it to your antenna.

Should I bother with a gamma match or not?

You will likely need some form of matching for your yagi, and the gamma match is probably the easiest method for matching. A matching network is needed as the native impedance of a yagi is somewhere between 12 to 200 ohms, depending on the number of elements, and element spacing. You can search the internet to find dimensions for a gamma for 2 Meters and UHF. There are other methods such as a hairpin match, a T-match, a delta-match, etc. If you have a copy, or can get one, of the ARRL Antenna Book, there is information in there about all the different matches available.

The only yagi-type antenna that is 50 ohms (or very close to) is the two-element Moxon. That antenna can be fed directly with 50 ohm coax.

Hope that helps.

Mike

Thanks Mike. The 2m is a 3-element and the 70cm is six-element. I'm using the patterns laid out in this article.

I'll if I can order a copy of that book from Amazon. I had hoped there might be a good online article but I haven't one that's on a beginner level yet.

After a lot of digging and studying diagrams I now understand the gamma match.