• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Ham Radio Deluxe Problem

Jaymom

Mar 14, 2011
Ocala, FL.
I can't use it yet since i am still a Tech. but this coming Saturday which is just 3 days from now I hope to be able to try out BPSK31. I have enjoyed copying it for some time now. I have downloaded a number of programs such as MMTTY, Digipan, MultiPSK, etc. From what I can figure out by reading the QSO's of many other hams is that HRD is the most popular although Digipan ranks right up there.
I have been experimenting and find that Digipan works quite nicely (radio connects to computer) but for the life of me I can't get HRD to do the same. I get the following as seen in my attachment. What I am doing wrong I do not know and thought that just maybe someone else has had the same problem one time or another. I can receive using HRD with no problems at all.
Any thoughts?

Harold

Attachments

• HRD.JPG
    HRD.JPG
    26.8 KB · Views: 350

Do you have a cable connected from the radio to the computer other than audio cables?

HRD offers full control of the radio through the computer, changing bands, frequencies and this error usually means that the cable isn't connected.

Some of the soundcard interfaces use a com port for the PTT, this isn't what HRD is looking for, I think for Icom its called a CI-V cable. If nothing else, don't use HRD and go directly to the DM780 program you will be able to monitor PSK31 but it will just have an error saying not connected to HRD

A couple of quick questions. Is your radio on before HRD is started? HRD needs the radio to be on first. Have you checked all your connection settings? What are you using to connect your computer to the radio?

hey the icom 718 is a nice radio!
the cable u have for it its also for the icom706? where did you get the software? eBay?