• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Help ID/specs this obscure amp? Palomar TX-300

napjerk

May 16, 2020
San Antonio
Hi everyone.

I recently got this amp in a lot of radios/etc that I purchased. I can't find any real specs or info on it anywhere online. It appears to be an old (1980s?) 2 pill Palomar TX-300 but there's nothing I can find online about it.

It has full heatsink fins on 3 sides, not just the bottom like TX Star amps, 3 switches on the front panel, ON, HI and RCV. It appears to work ok based on local radio checks, but I don't know if it can do SSB or AM only. I am a total newbie to amps and was hoping some of the experts here could help me out.

Will try to attach some pictures.

Thanks in advance,

Mike

Attachments

• 20200819_153344.jpg
    20200819_153344.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 290
  • 20200819_153418.jpg
    20200819_153418.jpg
    945.2 KB · Views: 256
  • 20200820_204723.jpg
    20200820_204723.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 256

MRF453 NPN Silicon Power Transistor, 60 W, 30 MHz, 12.5 V, MFR: Motorola Designed for power amplifier applications in industrial, commercial, and amateur radio equipment to 30 MHz. Specified 12.5 V, 30 MHz characteristics: Output power = 60 W, Minimum gain

Reactions: napjerk
Thanks BJ radionut for the info on the internals. There's no documentation that I can find on the web for this box, so every bit helps. There's no SSB switch on the front, or do some of these auto switch internally?

I have a couple of other old amps I'm dusting off and trying to get running, so I'll probably be back with more questions.

Thanks,
Mike