• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Help, RCI2980 No AM/SSB Transmit Problem.

RCIGuy

Jan 16, 2023
Hello, found this forum while looking for info with the problem im having with an RCI2980. Stock radio, it has been working great but when i powered it up yesterday i heard a very faint "pop" sound now it has no transmit on am or ssb, the receive still works fine. All caps (all replaced 1yr ago) look good, dont see anything burnt up or odd looking. Not sure as to what i should be looking for, i have some knowledge and tools and could probably fix it if i new where to start, any and all help/support would be most appreciated, dont have a backup radio so im pretty much screwed for right now. TYIA

When someone asks advice about some fault in a particular model car, the first question will be what production year it is. The internal details change a lot from year to year.

This radio model isn't quite that bad as a year-to-year thing, but it has been sold long enough for the transmitter's power circuits to have changed in a big way, especially since 2006-2007. If it's older than that it used conventional bipolar transistors in the transmitter's RF power stages. If it's newer than that, the radio was built to be lead-free. This means both lead-free solder and lead-free parts. The original RF power transistors used in the transmitter's power stages were discontinued by 2007, and the factory adopted a substitute called a IFR520 MOSFET. It just does the job but tends to be kinda fragile against high SWR. Yes, the older type transistors can fail, but they tolerate higher levels of stress.