1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
This forum does not allow a single user to have more than one username. If anyone wants to change their username contact an admin and it will be done. Multiple accounts belonging to the same member will be deleted without warning.

HF homebrew tube amp photo build

Discussion in 'Home Brew' started by Radio Tech, Sep 30, 2009.

  1. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16,625
    Likes Received:
    10,432

    I have been asked a lot of times why I don't go with the Russian tubes and the simple answer is that I don't want to use any type of ceramic tube. I simply prefer glass tubes. The big amp I plan to make will have a certain vintage look to it and ceramic tubes were simply not around in that era. Both it and especially the 572B project will be used as part of a classic AM station and ceramic tubes just don't fit in from a continuity point of view. The 811A and 572B have been around for 50-60 years and fit in nicely. Besides, the soft glow of the filaments behind a glass panel or as seen thru a screened RF deck is eye candy to some of us. :p: There is nothing wrong with using ceramic tubes mind you, it's just that in some cases nostalgia takes precedence. Running a Heath DX-60 or Viking 2 into a 3CX1500 just ain't right IMHO. :D


     

  2. linearone

    linearone King of NY

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    8
    without a doubt I think glass tubes are prettier too. I love to see the glow.

    but, there sure is something sexy about a 3cx15000... maybe its the handles....
    :wub:
     
  3. Radio Tech

    Radio Tech Radio Operator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    262
    I love the power of the ceramic's but there is just something about te glow of those tubes on a cold winter day in the shack.

    Ok, back to the amp build.

    I fabricated a piece of metal for the tubes to sit on. About an inch below the to of the chassis. This was then spot welded into the main chassis and the top was cut out. Now I can sand, file and paint.

    Now you can go out and have all this made professionally. But I like to make or use what I have available. One reason I am using this chassis that was made in 1962 (nostalgia). This is homebrew!

    RF Deck installed
    [​IMG]

    Top cut out for RF Deck.
    [​IMG]

    Just to get an idea of how the tubes fit.
    [​IMG]
     
    #18 Radio Tech, Oct 2, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2009
  4. n8fgb

    n8fgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    218
    The Chinese 57b's are 6 1/8 inch from the top of the socket to the top of the anode. The Dentrons are about 1/4 inch shorter.
    Rich
     
  5. Radio Tech

    Radio Tech Radio Operator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    262
    Last project for today.
    The shield

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. linearone

    linearone King of NY

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    8
    looking real good! but you will only be able to see the glow from the top
     
  7. Radio Tech

    Radio Tech Radio Operator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    262
    Got to do something about that!
    The top opens like a door. I am going to cut the part out over the tubes and put mesh over it. Get that heat out and watch the glow.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16,625
    Likes Received:
    10,432
    Looks like you are off to a good start. I am working nights tonight and tomorrow night with Sunday off (sleep day) and then back to work on Monday and Tuesday :headbang which is off my normal shift rotation but it enabled me to get nine days off in a row :w00t: so I hope to get a few things started myself. I need to get some things done around the yard and put up an antenna but hopefully I can get some chassis work done. I have an old cabinet that was originally a frequency meter I think. It's about 17w X 9½h X 12d and needs a couple holes filled,sanded and a fresh coat of paint. The front panel has rack handles and will actually bolt to the homemade chassis allowing the entire innerds to be slid out for ease of service. I'll get some pix up early next week after I get a chance to tell night from day. :D On a side note,I just found out my planned 2000pf loading capacitor is about ½ inch too long to fit. :oops: Time to hit the junque box. I prefer to spell it "junque" and not "junk" because it is a higher class of junk. :whistle:
     
  9. Radio Tech

    Radio Tech Radio Operator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    262
    Hey I love junque!

    Know what you mean about the night shift. Did that for 4 years. Been back on days for a little over 2 years now.

    Cant wait to see you get started on yours. But I know how times is.

    Paint
    Going to paint the chassis with Walmart special. The paint is made by Rustoleum. It is called "Hammered" and leaves a great looking finish. They have it in many colors.
    You you paint the inside of the tube compartment, (and I suggest you do) paint it with a flat color. This will keep the filaments from reflecting off the tube compartment and creating more heat. With 3-500's this is a must.


    Transformer.
    I am going through transformers to see what I can use. I have to look closer and see what the 811A and 572B likes. One transformer I have came from a Pride DX300. I believe this is 2000 volts after filter and rectifying.
     
  10. linearone

    linearone King of NY

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    8
    why not just un do it and shorten it? it can be done kinda easy if you are careful. it takes loads of time though
     
  11. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16,625
    Likes Received:
    10,432
    I thought of that but this one is a tough one. It has ceramic insulators running the length of it.It's actually two 1000pF caps laid end to end on a common frame.It would involve cutting two pieces of ceramic as well as three brass rods that run the length of it. I'll post some pix in a couple days,after the night shifts end and you will see what I mean.
     
  12. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16,625
    Likes Received:
    10,432

    GREAT! Now you are going to make me look like a copycat! I must state that I have already painted the large 42 inch cabinet for the 3-500 amp with Walmart Hammertone black and will be doing the same on the 572B cabinet. :love: BTW, a good paint for the inside is also available from Wally Mart.I used, and will be again, their "textured" black paint for outdoor metal furniture. It is flat black with a somewhat rough finish which is rougher than just a flat paint but not pebbled like that rocky texture stuff. I figure my amp will be hammertone black on the outside,textured flat black on the inside and the front panel will probably be gray hammertone or another shade of gray.I have a couple to choose from.
     
  13. Radio Tech

    Radio Tech Radio Operator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    262

    Well you know what they say, great minds think alike :D
    I love those Wal-Mart paints. Great for covering lousy prep work like grind marks and so on. Plus gives the finish character!
     
  14. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16,625
    Likes Received:
    10,432

    That's exactlythe reason I chose the hammertone paint, to hide all the little imperfections. (y)
     
  15. Radio Tech

    Radio Tech Radio Operator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    262

    That stuff works wonders and goes on al my restorations :)



    Ok, The circuit.
    If anyone wants to see a what this amplifier circuit looks like, this one will be close as you can get.
    http://jlandrigan.com/files/DX-811A GG Linear Amplifier.pdf

    This was in CQ Magazine September 1982.
    Although it will differ to some extent.

    I been going through transformers today.
    Not having much luck. One transfomer I have came out of a Pride DX300. By the time this is rectified and filtered it will be around 2400 volts. Now that may be a proble for the 811A tubes! But this is with no load.
    The 811A as I have read likes about 15 to 17 hundred volts. The transfomer under load should drop to 1800 volts @ 500ma (If I done my math right).117VAC @ 10 amps gives 1800VAC out.

    Two disavantages are no CT on the secondary and no 240 input on primary.
    So with 120VAC in, voltage drop across the supply, and the ground of the bridge recitifier on the TX relay, no voltage present in the stand-by mode.

    I have to think about this more.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!