• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

homemade full-wave attic-mount loop

mouserusker

Oct 3, 2009
I'm setting up my first CB home station. It's actually my first transceiver setup of any kind.
I got a copy of the ARRL Antenna Handbook, read lots of things on the internet, and came up with this loop. (Pics below)
It's 38 feet (slightly longer than one wavelength at 27.205, as per the chapter on loop antennas) of 12 gauge copper wire. Height is 74" and width is 154". It's fed halfway up one of the vertical sides with a Q-section made of 75 ohm coax 5 ft 11.6 in long (1/4 WL x .66 (velocity factor for solid de coax)). This is coiled for common mode choking and attached to 50 ohm coax coming from my Galaxy DX959.
So, what do you guys think? I'm really new at this, so I welcome advice and harassment. Thanks!
CIMG1967.jpg

CIMG1968.jpg

Well it's an interesting start. I love loops and have an 80 meter horizontal loop up in the backyard for all of my HF work on 80,40,20,17 and sometimes 12/10 meters. Also tunes up on 6 meters at 50mhz with a good enough outboard tuner.

Problem with your loop here is that loops have NO gain on the fundamental frequency....the bottom freq. that it's made for...which in your case is 11 meters. But they do increase in gain as you increase in frequency with them. (higher bands on multiple wavelengths)

So you have a no-gain antenna. You can do way better than that with pretty much anything. A dipole, An Antron 99....anything.

Also, vertical loops will be directional out the front & back with considerable nulls out the sides. This will further limit what it can do for you.

Fun to make, talk on where you can, and experiment with. It's certainly stealthy....why...it's darn invisible from the outside!

Good luck and have fun!