• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

I was bored today.

Captain Kilowatt

Professional Amateur
Staff member
Apr 6, 2005
Nova Scotia,Canada
I need a winter project and the wife is at me to clean out some junk. I thought maybe I could combine the two activities. I have been gathering parts for a couple decades but have been selective with what I gather and not just hoarding every little component I can find. No, instead I resorted to gathering the stuff you can't just order online or pick up down the street. I started to throw it in a rack to see how it would fit for room. All I did so far was assemble the main power supply components.

20161124_155810.jpg

So far it looks like I have 40 uF of filtering at 5000 volts. The plate transformer is good for 1.2 amps CCS or about 2 amps ICAS and has three taps for the HV. The variac will allow me to adjust the voltage to suit me.

I also found a filament transformer rated at 7.5 volts and a minimum of 52 amps continuous. It was used with a 3CX3000A7. Oh.......I have a couple of those kicking around here too. Used but good. :D

3xiu.jpg

Picked up a filament choke from a GPK-10 naval transmitter that ran a 4CX5000 final at 72 amps so I know the choke is good for a 3Cx3000A7.
20150824_165741.jpg

I also found enough EDI rectifier stacks to make a full wave bridge with a spare or two. They are rated at 22 Kv and 30 amps continuous average forward current. Also found the following meters.

IMG_2351.JPG

Got a couple of Jennings vac variable caps to rated at 1000pF at 10 Kv.

patuningsmallju6.jpg

I found a LARGE roller inductor as well in very good shape. It is silver plated 3/16 brass tubing and has 30 turns about 3 inches or so in diameter. It is NOT the coil shown above but the caps and turns counters are in my collection.