• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Is the Sirio Gain Master really a good DX vertical ?

RadioDaze

Antenna enquirer
May 11, 2015
Caveat : I know that DX is hugely dependent on atmospheric conditions and so therefore making hard and fast statements is clearly not possible. I am also aware that any individual antenna should be taken into account with the complete antenna system as a whole. Poles, chokes, isolation or not, grounding, QTH, heigth above ground, height above sea level, soil conditions (though at 27Mhz this is less of an issue for common ground types)

I have a Gain Master and have made some good contacts, however I am starting to wonder if it is really as good a DX antenna as Sirio and the reports I have read make it out to be in my specific situation.

I have learnt this antenna does like to be away from other objects and have found that under 6M high and low angle TOA performance might begin to suffer a bit. Whereas potentially ground plane types can operate quite well close to the ground and being bolted to a metallic object can actually be of benefit.

I keep hearing stories of people doing 10,000 mile multi hop skip with their mobile whip antenna and there is video evidence of this happening on Youtube. So it can be done.

My issue is I think I should be getting better DX score given my rather elaborate DX mobile base station. I do have an IMAX antenna and am considering giving that a go soon on a decent set of poles 6M + in the air. I have good height, decent power and a good antenna. I am starting to think that the GM may not be that good an antenna for DX compared to a good 5/8 wave ground plane type.

Thought that pop into my head: