• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

looking for the right antenna

I have the "Sirio Gainmaster 5/8's wave, the antenna beats the daylights out of an A99. The Gainmaster is "Center fed" and has an RF choke on the base by the feedpoint to "De-couple" the RF signal from the feed line.
You can get these Gainmasters for about the same price as an A99.
I have a Gainmaster that I was using at the last place, was shooting skip during the low part of the cycle at 4 feet off the ground. Once I finally get out of this HOA (long story) that's probably going to be the first thing I set up after the XYL's stuff. (Survival tip, always get her set up first.)

The Gainmaster is a good antenna, there are some long threads here about them and how they work.
Marconi has done modeling on them and even a how to homebrew one with a higher power rating in here somewhere.

Jeff
Yeah, they're great antennas don't understand why they are only engineered to handle 500 whiskeys, but that's okay.

Reactions: Blackcat630
I have a Gainmaster that I was using at the last place, was shooting skip during the low part of the cycle at 4 feet off the ground. Once I finally get out of this HOA (long story) that's probably going to be the first thing I set up after the XYL's stuff. (Survival tip, always get her set up first.)
If your a DX operator, having a low takeoff angle is choice for that sort of work. Like you, and coincidental, my Gainmaster feed point is only 4'F off the ground and mounted to a 50lb cast iron patio umbrella stand, my current location won't allow my to set up a tower, no biggie, My Gainmaster performs beyond my expectations at the height I have it..

Take care!
UDX-4570 Palm Springs saying 73's for now!