1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Low Pass filter

Discussion in 'General CB Services Discussion' started by Pamm r, Mar 13, 2018.

  1. Pamm r

    Pamm r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    11
    My TV and Computer acts up bad i guess so close to box with power. Someone told me to put a Filter inline coax. Which brand low price that works. New or used, 1000 watt at least. I can look on e-bay but not sure what to ask for yet????


     
    rabbiporkchop and Sonar like this.

  2. BJ radionut

    BJ radionut Supporting Member and 6m addict

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    979
    Pamm r likes this.
  3. Pamm r

    Pamm r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks you, Now if I could find a used cheaper one that would be great
     
  4. BJ radionut

    BJ radionut Supporting Member and 6m addict

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    979
    Pamm r likes this.
  5. Blackcat630

    Blackcat630 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    346
    Look for Bencher YA-1. Don't think they've been made for years. Good unit.
     
    L2 and Pamm r like this.
  6. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    15,113
    Likes Received:
    6,799
    No type of filter will cure the issue with the computer. Filters cure harmonics and the computer issue is likely shear strong signal getting into things. Toroids on the power leads and all wires connecting to it are what is neded . If it is just computer speakers being affected then toroids or snap on ferrites on the power supply and speaker leads are needed.
     
  7. Pamm r

    Pamm r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    11
    The computer will beep and restart, or a few times the keyboard disconnected and i had to restart the computer to rehook
     
  8. BJ radionut

    BJ radionut Supporting Member and 6m addict

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    979
    http://palomar-engineers.com/rfi-kits/computer-rfi-kits/

    You may need to use both...the Low Pass and something like above...I presently do both on computers/TV's and behind my amplifiers.
    The chances are very good if your bothering your equipment...You could be doing the same to your neighbors in some regard.
    All the Best
    Gary

    I even added filters to my WiFi router on the power cords and the Phone line coming in.
     
    #8 BJ radionut, Mar 14, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2018
    Pamm r, kaos513 and Captain Kilowatt like this.
  9. M0GVZ

    M0GVZ Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    737
    RF choke on the coax at the antenna feedpoint, sort out your antenna RF grounding.
     
    Pamm r likes this.
  10. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    705
    Is your computer and your amplifier plugged into the same 120v circuit?
     
  11. Sonar

    Sonar Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    516
    Drake TV-3300 LP of TV-1000 LP. Readily available on eBay. Some ferrites added to your coax (jumpers) might actually do the job. Using an RFI filter like the Drake or similar, and the ferrites (if needed) will most likely do the job but not guaranteed. All you could do is give it's a shot. The Drake will of course be used as they haven't been made in many years but if in good working order should cost between 20 and $35. Good luck. 73's
     
  12. Tallman

    Tallman W9WDX Amateur Radio Member, KW4YJ EXTRA class

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,013
    Likes Received:
    2,075
    Do you have station grounds connected? Those will help.
     
  13. 543_Dallas

    543_Dallas Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    Used filters can be a good buy. Open them up for inspection and test the caps. The components can fail if too much power or a lot of harmonics have went through the filter.
     
    Sonar likes this.
  14. Sonar

    Sonar Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    516
    If a used filter does indeed have bad capacitors could it cause damage to the equipment being run through it?
     
  15. Tallman

    Tallman W9WDX Amateur Radio Member, KW4YJ EXTRA class

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,013
    Likes Received:
    2,075
    Yes.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!