• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Low range

BayAreaBigFoot

Jul 1, 2020
Hi guys newbie here, kinda new to cbs and new to the forum, thanks for having me.
I have a question (may be a dumb one) soni have a cobra 29 lx with the cigarette lighter plug for power and ground and a wilson lil will magnet mount (im planning on upgrading soon)
But it seems to me i have low range, my old swr meter is not working properly so i have tuned my antenna with the built in swr metee and im ahowing a good swr of around 1.5 on 1 and 40 but i had a buddy range test with me (he is running a decent setup very similar to mine but with fiberglass antenna) and various radio check on my commute it seems my range is only about 1/4-1/2 mile...is this normal for my setup? Is this due to the little antenna? Any help is appreciated

Range should be further than that with that setup. You didn't mention if this was over hills or in the city or in a forest etc. Signals can be effected locally by big hills/mountains etc.

Possible things to check.

1. Your cigarette lighter adapter - if it's not providing enough current the radio may not be able to TX properly although usually this would blow the fuse however if the adapter isn't getting a good ground etc that could be an issue. You could try to wire directly to the battery. However all that being said - I've used the cigarette adapter with numerous setups without issue but once or twice have had issues over the years.
  2. The Wilson Lil Wil - it's not a great antenna but it should get out at least 5 miles on flat terrain. Where is it mounted on your vehicle - center of the roof is the best location. Does it have a good metal surface to attach to?