• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Mobile with SSB

x2502

Jan 7, 2012
I'm brand new to CB and want a radio for my vehicle and the wife's w/SSB capability. Reports I've read on the Galaxy models are mixed, with lots of comments about drifting on SSB. Are the Cobra 148 and Texas Ranger 966 better in this regard?

Thanks!

The 148 will have the best recieve of the radios above,

I really like President HR2510's HR2600 and Lincolns. Hard to beat when set up correctly.

Since I'm a newbie with no tech experience, I'd like to stay with new equipment. Maybe after I get my bearings and a soldering iron, I could get into some of the better used gear. I hear good things about the Presidents and the Maylasia-made Cobras.

Galaxy dx 979 gets thumbs up from me. Very mariginal amount of drift. Compact size is also a plus as well. The XYL has 1 in her pickup and its a talker.
If you can find an older 148 then they are great as well.

If you are trying to keep from the higher priced ham rigs..

I Suggest Ar-3300 and AR-3500 ..
Excellent SSB radios for 10/11 meters ( cb & extra channels )

Thanks for the replies.

Since I'm a novice, at this point I'm not considering 10m gear and a ham license. Maybe in the future, but for now I'm looking at 2 mobile and maybe 1 base CB units. I'm interested in the SSB models due to the increased output and efficiency.

along with the already mentioned older cobra 148, the older uniden grant is a good radio too if you can find them with out having been hacked. best of luck.

I've owned both and the Cobra 148 GTL is by far the better quality CB radio hands down. The modders like the Galaxys because it uses a very common chasis and very modify-able. Other than that the Cobra wins for quality and relibility.