• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Motorola HT200

secret squirrel

Lustrous Potentate
Oct 5, 2008
Washington, PA
Anybody have the ambition to do work on a Motorola HT 200. Please let me know. The tech I used in Ocala FL for the old Motorola stuff retired. I have one that is crystaled 155.295, our local ambulance frequency. Of course with the narrow band VHF. Its useless to transmit. I want to use it just as a monitor. I had a 9-volt connector soldered to the battery terminals. if I calculated correct the 9 volts should drive the receiver only. I want the PTT disconnected. the antenna connector changed to BNC. Have it gone over for function. The does squelch is scratchy. Thanks all. Over the years as a paramedic I picked up some old Handi Talkies. I carried an HT600 and MT1000 for years until narrow banding. Never got the hang of the little China Made radios. I liked the ability to know I can use my portable at a wheel chuck if needed.

Last edited:

If it seems to work ok on receive I wouldn't worry much about having it gone over for function which is just checking the alignment of the receiver,
I wouldn't think disabling the PTT would be very hard but you could just take out the transmit crystal if it appears easier to do assuming you just want to disable the transmitter.
I would find the correct battery and charger for it.