• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Need a little help unhacking a washington

Enterprise312ok

Jun 12, 2022
Hello, this is my first post on this forum I have been operating cb radios for about 6 months now and have recently aquired a Uniden washington with A 4 switch channel mod that I like. The washington does have a couple issues though The main issue Is a feedback squeal on tx when vr6 Is at normal power. I have been having trouble locating r104 to see if it is intact. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank You Enterprise 312 In the Black Gold

Reactions: G-Golly Wally

What we do first is replace C92 with a 470uf capacitor. The factory part is a 47uf 10-Volt cap. The larger upgrade usually won't quite fit, but will be fine standing up on the two wire leads, just above the surrounding parts. So long as you won't be using it mobile, should not cause trouble.

Don't have a handy picture to point out its location.

And if it still squeals after this, the problem lies elsewhere.

What we do first is replace C92 with a 470uf capacitor. The factory part is a 47uf 10-Volt cap. The larger upgrade usually won't quite fit, but will be fine standing up on the two wire leads, just above the surrounding parts. So long as you won't be using it mobile, should not cause trouble.

Don't have a handy picture to point out its location.

And if it still squeals after this, the problem lies elsewhere.

Ummm, didn't think to ask. Has the original 5-pin mike socket been replaced with a 4-pin? Or is an adapter to use a 4-pin mike plugged into it? These are both famous for making the mike audio squeal on AM.