• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Need Help Building a dual band J Pole Antenna for 146/440

Nov 28, 2008
Hi i am a new amateur radio operator who wants to build an antenna for my house. I was looking at jpole plans and i was recommended the Construction Plans for the Model J146/440 at http://www.fwarc.org/Ant articles/J Pole Antenna.htm .It looks pretty simple, but i have a few questions.

I have never made a radio and i dont know how to mount it. is it neccessary to use the ubolt assembly and mount it to a pole, because i was thinking that i could bold the bracket directly into the the overhang of my roof right outside my room window. I know the antenna is supposed to be far away from other objects, and this spot is pretty far away from everything. My question is does the aluminum and ubolt that is used to attach it to a pole affect the performance of the radio, because i plan to use normal bolts and nuts.

Secondly, i was wondering where i attack the coaxial cable to the jpole. On the picture and discription at http://www.fwarc.org/Ant articles/J Pole Antenna.htm , there is no measurements for where to attach the coaxial cable.

Finally, my last question is how to i split the coax cable to attach to the radio. I have never done this and i was wondering how i split the sheild and center wire, how i attach it to the antenna, where i attach it, and if i use a splitter to do this.

One more thing. It says to test the swr readings to make sure it is adjusted correctly. How do i test this and what is this? thanks you

Thank you for all the help, and i am sorry these questions are stupid, but i am very new to amateur radio and i would appreciate the help.

-Peter

ps i fixed the links they should work now

Last edited: