• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Need help with Cobra 2000 gtl

Newman86

Apr 4, 2018
I've been a CB hobbyist for a while now, but I've recently started to work on them since my local CB Technician past away. I've picked up and old cobra 2000 gtl it works just does not receive very well. Im planning on replacing the capacitors first, but when I opened it up some one has done some work to it looks like a mod but I'm not sure. Does any one know what has been done in the pictures of the bottom of the board?

Attachments

• 20180331_232151.jpg
    20180331_232151.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 39
  • 20180331_232205.jpg
    20180331_232205.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 36
  • 20180331_232215.jpg
    20180331_232215.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 35
  • 20180331_232221.jpg
    20180331_232221.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 34
  • 20180331_232232.jpg
    20180331_232232.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 36

Looks like someone cut the trace on one of the leads of the 11.3258 tripler Crystal. They added a little tank circuit in series with this lead of the crystal for whatever reason. Looks like they were trying to put something on frequency. If I had to guess they might have modified the clarifier and we're having trouble getting all modes to Center up. This might have been done in an attempt to remedy that issue. To test this just remove them and jumper across that Trace to put the radio back to normal.
LC

Reactions: 357magnum
Ok I'll give that a a try. And the clarifier mod is ok or remove It too? It looks to me the crystal has been replaced and another component with c945 on it. I'm not sure if they have been replace with the correct values.

Attachments

• 20180403_222850.jpg
    20180403_222850.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 18
  • 20180403_224356.jpg
    20180403_224356.jpg
    951.8 KB · Views: 20
  • 20180403_223605.jpg