• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Optima Saga

ponykilr

Feb 20, 2014
I have been waffling backward and forward about the Optima for a couple of months. I bought a used (like new) MKIII from Duster and I am glad I did it. It is a very nicely built radio.

Just a few notes that may help others here and elsewhere:

The plastic electrical connector on the radio side of the harness pulled right off with hardly any pressure. I always check this as when I was a GM tech I saw MANY connectors which were not crimped solidly. I was able to remove the pins and re-crimp them, but if you have not checked yours this could lead to the radio being under powered as well as building up heat from high resistance.

I needed mounting bolts/knobs as they were not with the radio (I purchased it knowing this) and I took it with me to the hardware store to get something. I ended up with hex/allen button head bolts and rubber washers. They are 4mm in size.

The mounting bracket I ended up buying is for a Cobra 25 which is about 3/16 too wide but with my rubber washers it ended up being perfect.

For any Ford Super Duty owners, there seems to be no great place to mount a radio where it looks natural and not like a pimple on a prom queen. I made this custom steel bracket and glued carpet over it back when I ran my General Lee and it works great for the Optima too. I have posted a few pics so you maybe could copy the idea. It is aprox 16 gauge steel. It just sits in the pocket and rests on the underside of the dash on the lower end. One of those anti slip black pads in the pocket keeps it from moving but a screw under the dash could also be used if you are a bit of a rough driver.

I have this radio paired with a Sirio P5000, after I wire up the power I will report back with how well it seems to perform.