• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Palomar 200X issue

Rok55

May 19, 2017
Hello again all. I realize I may be posting in the wrong section as I am a CBer but I don't see a section for CB amps and the Palomar is a Base amp. I'm looking for comments and advice on a Palomar 200X that I acquired a few years back but am just attempting to putting in line. I'm very new to CBs and trying to learn as I go. I've searched for similar threads and not really come up with any answers. I have a copy of the User manual and schematics downloaded from cbtricks and have setup/tuned the amp per those instructions.

My (base) setup is a Uniden 980SSB with a Maco V58 at approximately 20' to feedline connection. SWR without the Palomar is 1.2 - 1.3 across the band. With the Palomar inline (3' jumper) and turned off SWR jumps to 3.9 and higher, turned on jumps to over 8.1.

What should I be looking for to correct this or do I just need to find a reputable repair tech to go through the amp.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Rocky

With the Palomar in line and off the SWR you see is from an impedance "bump" you are probably getting from the open frame relay inside the amp. Then when you turn it on an you see a very high SWR, that could be from a whole bunch of things. You have ti make sure all the tubes are good and are working. There is an adjustment for tweaking the driver tube unti the final that might need adjustment. Have you tried loading it up with a full carrier?

Post the link to your schematics and maybe I can help you. A lot of those amps have a trimmer on the input to match the transceiver to the amp.