1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
This forum does not allow a single user to have more than one username. If anyone wants to change their username contact an admin and it will be done. Multiple accounts belonging to the same member will be deleted without warning.

Power Supply Needed for Texas Star Amps??

Discussion in 'General CB Services Discussion' started by lrz50, Mar 5, 2019.

  1. Ranch55

    Ranch55 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    716
    A Texas Star 500V can draw as much as 62~65 amps.
    I have run several of these over the years. I operate them with a 75 amp power supply on a base station. I use an externally wired amp meter to monitor current draw.
    I use the MFJ or Ameritron 75 Amp power supply. Have been for about 5 years.


     
    NightThumper, AudioShockwav and L2 like this.

  2. CB590

    CB590 W9WDX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    I was going to respond about the side holes that have the fixed/charge mode and the adjustment pot for vDC..

    The 75 amp runs about $170 or somm
     
  3. dave457

    dave457 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    1,415
    Here's a server p/s I did for a friend,
    About $20.0, rock solid on amperage and voltage. 62 amp
     

    Attached Files:

  4. w0srb

    w0srb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    33
    Is that model no HSTNS-PL18. If so there is youtube video on how to get 13.85 volts from it.
     
  5. 2NC995

    2NC995 DAN

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    3,949
    Older thread, but comes up quite a bit it seems.

    Here’s some testing I did on a new DX500V with DEIs, SSB only:

    Tested at 27.395 lsb into dummy load. Daiwa CN-901HP peak reading meter. 13.8-13.9 volts measured at end of factory leads.

    30w in = 590w out @ 60 amps
    25 = 550 @ 56 amps
    20 = 500 @ 53 amps
    16 = 460 @ 51 amps
    14 = 425 @ 49 amps
    12 = 400 @ 47 amps < (where I’ll be running mine)
    10 = 390 @ 46 amps
    8 = 350 @ 44 amps

    Reading analogue scales for watts and amps, so no decimals. Current was measured with a 75mv, 100 amp shunt resistor and a panel meter, voltage with a Fieldpiece multimeter.
     
    skiman1, L2, Slowmover and 1 other person like this.
  6. Shortskip

    Shortskip New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I bought a powermax 75 amp supply to run older Texas star do 350. Plenty of power but when I let off the key the lights on amp blinks. Also blink while talking. Looking for the reason. Is this damaging to my Amp? Thanks for any wisdom. 73
     
    #36 Shortskip, Jun 30, 2021
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2021
  7. L2

    L2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    365
    I run the same setup. Texas Star 500V and an Ameritron 75 amp supply.
     
    Ranch55 likes this.
  8. Greg T

    Greg T 945 (Jazz Singer) Upper Peninsula of Michigan

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    228
    Here is my experience with the DX-500V. Driving remained stable at 30W pep for tests:

    Brand new, out of the box driving into dummy load:

    27.385 LSB, FT-990 Radio, Daiwa 901 meter in pep ( not peak reading hold mode)

    Output was 475W at 62 A draw. This is fresh out of the box.

    Did a power wire upgrade with silicone #10, removing both fuse holders, attaching separate wires to each board for a total of 4 power wires, terminated with 175A Anderson power pole. AFTER the upgrade:

    Output 675 W pep @ 45A draw

    Also, this has DEI outputs in it. Been running this way for 6 months now without a hiccup. The amp is extremely clean, loud and always get awesome audio reports.
     
    Ranch55 and Shadetree Mechanic like this.
  9. snippits75

    snippits75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    456
    Had a 55 amp Powemax that did the same thing causing blinking. Hooked up a radio and meter to it with no amp connected. Caused the lights to blink on the radio, and the light in my meter to blink too.

    Powermax said there was nothing wrong with it. Ended up selling it to a friend that used it to power a four tube mobile Elkin amp.

    Bought a Megawatt 50 amp that powered a two pill(350 watts), dual final radio, and a meter. No more blinking lights.
     
    Greg T likes this.
  10. NZ8N

    NZ8N Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    341
    This quote was from my experience over 20 years ago, back in the Toshiba 2SC2879 Texas Star DX350/DX667V days, using Astron supplies, not switching, and not from current Chinese transistor amps. So, I can't say as to the efficiency of current amplifier builds.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!