1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Power Supply Needed for Texas Star Amps??

Discussion in 'General CB Services Discussion' started by lrz50, Mar 5, 2019.

  1. lrz50

    lrz50 CQ 1-5-50 Arizona

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    34
    Are the Texas Star amps drawing the amps, as the specs say they are? Dx-350HD 30a, Dx-500 45a I was going to buy Dx-350HD, but I would have to by a new 35-40amp power supply just for the Dx-350HD and bigger for the Dx-500. Ameritron 600 and 800 watt amps, only need 25 amp power supplies. Why does a 200-250 watt amp need 30a. I just bought a new 25a power supply a year ago and it powers every thing on my radio table, CB radio, 100w amp, SW radios all on at the same time, no problem. Does anyone run a Texas Star for a base amp, what do you use.(n)


     

  2. 9C1Driver

    9C1Driver Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,257
    Likes Received:
    989
    If your talking about this amplifier http://www.ameritron.com/Product.php?productid=ALS-600Y looks like it's being run at 50 volts and it's a mosfet amplifier. Ohm's Law applies to both Texas Star and Ameritron so yes those numbers are what can be expected. I have an Astron 35M and use it to power a Texas Star 250 or 350 and works just fine.
     
  3. CDX8412

    CDX8412 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    79
    I used to run a TS DX500v from the shack and powered it with an Astron 75 amp power supply. Not cheap, but it provided plenty of current with sufficient headroom to power the DX-500v without any problems. IIRC, I would see a current draw of between 40-45 amps on the front meter, at full output.

    This was a good setup, as I worked my old friend 979 on the DX Tour, between Maine and Virginia, and all points in between, via groundwave, from my QTH in SE Pennsylvania. YMMV
     
  4. NZ8N

    NZ8N Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    89
    My general rule of thumb on power supplies for amplifiers has always been, you will need at least 10 amps @13.8v per 100 watts, so a Texas Star 350 will need a 35A supply to be safe. This takes into effect resistive heat losses over the RF power being generated.
     
    9C1Driver likes this.
  5. Eldorado828

    Eldorado828 4-2-5 Amarillo Tx Standing By

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    315
    I've used the powermax converter chargers for the 350 and 500 before and worked like a charm. The powermax boxes come in various flavors of amperage so pick your poison at a lesser cost than some of the other supplies.
     
    Mudduckmobile likes this.
  6. lrz50

    lrz50 CQ 1-5-50 Arizona

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    34
    I checked out the power-max's on Amazon, great prices. Prices range from $98.00 for a 35a to $150.00 for a 100a. I might go with the 55a, that way it would handle ether the dx-350HD or the dx-500v Thanks for the info 828(y)
     
    #6 lrz50, Mar 6, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2019
  7. dave457

    dave457 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    880
    Why not get a server power supply, can be had for about $20.0 , 62 amp and can do an easy mod to get 12.8-12.9v
     
    543_Dallas likes this.
  8. CB590

    CB590 W9WDX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    645
    MegaWatt 30/33 power my TS350 just fine.. (y)
     
    Eldorado828 likes this.
  9. Eldorado828

    Eldorado828 4-2-5 Amarillo Tx Standing By

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    315
    I'm using that megawatt for my at-6666 now and it's been impressive so far but I don't pull a heavy amperage so I can't say from experience how it would do with the ts. For my needs it's done well. I've got a tin man 2.0b that I'll be putting in line soon but I think I'll go back to the powermax because I know that one will power it well. Many choices, all depends on how much of an extra current pillow you want or if you have a bigger box in the future. All good suggestions I have think.
     
  10. lrz50

    lrz50 CQ 1-5-50 Arizona

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    34
    I think I got one that will put out the Amps I need. A 426 Hemi-Powered Pyramid. It puts out a gazillion amps.:D DSC06970.JPG DSC06971.JPG
     
  11. 9C1Driver

    9C1Driver Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,257
    Likes Received:
    989
    They do get good reviews. Just make sure you buy direct from them and get the real deal. There are clones out there that don't perform near as well.
     
  12. nomadradio

    nomadradio Analog Retentive

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,239
    Likes Received:
    3,356
    The transistors in the Ameritron amplifier run from 50 Volts DC.

    Not twelve.

    This means that they put out four times the RF wattage per Amp of DC power-supply current.

    The Ameritron draws 25 Amps to put out the same RF power you would need 100 Amps to get from a 12-Volt design like a Texas Star.

    73
     
    9C1Driver likes this.
  13. w0srb

    w0srb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    30
    if it anything like a atx supply, It would be easy.
     
  14. TheRealPorkchop

    TheRealPorkchop Certified Sith Pimp

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    2,859
    Because...Roadkill

    #FSM
     
    Mudduckmobile likes this.
  15. 543_Dallas

    543_Dallas Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,360
    Likes Received:
    2,881
    Ohms law. 13 volts and 30 amps input power 13x30= 390 watts. Now remember that efficiency will be around 60% at best, so 390 x .6 = 234 watts. Where is gets tricky is when we start looking at PEP wattage. The above math is only good if you're using an average reading watt meter.

    Ditto. I have 200+ amps of server power supply that I didn't pay much over $100 for. They will run a 16 pill and jump start a Kawasaki. :D
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!