1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

qje 50 amp power supply hooking in parallel

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by 552fl, May 17, 2019.

  1. 552fl

    552fl Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    54
    can you hook two qje 50 amp power supply togerther in parallel for a100amps supply??


     

  2. Tallman

    Tallman W9WDX Amateur Radio Member, KW4YJ EXTRA class

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,017
    Likes Received:
    3,562
    S&W357 likes this.
  3. loosecannon

    loosecannon Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,480
    Likes Received:
    2,030
    yes, but unless the power supplies were designed to be operated this way, you need to use diodes to isolate them, and make sure that the voltage outputs are exactly identical.

    there are many articles online about how to do this.
    LC
     
    sp5it and Tallman like this.
  4. Tallman

    Tallman W9WDX Amateur Radio Member, KW4YJ EXTRA class

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,017
    Likes Received:
    3,562
    Megawatt has that all worked out.
     
    S&W357 and loosecannon like this.
  5. 552fl

    552fl Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    54
    I already have the one qje.. just trying to save without having to buy two extra power supply utilizing the one qje I already have
     
  6. Tallman

    Tallman W9WDX Amateur Radio Member, KW4YJ EXTRA class

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,017
    Likes Received:
    3,562
    What is a qje power supply? If you need 100 amps the BEST way to get it is with two Mega Watt power supplies.
     
  7. 552fl

    552fl Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    54
    Megawatts never heard of them.. do they come with a variable
     
  8. Tallman

    Tallman W9WDX Amateur Radio Member, KW4YJ EXTRA class

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,017
    Likes Received:
    3,562
    Yes they are variable and are they best power supplies I have ever owned. Customer service excellent.
     
    S&W357 and wavrider like this.
  9. sunbulls

    sunbulls Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    524
    I would also go with two Megawatt supplies. Cheaper in the long run. For those thinking about using other identical switching supplies together: I used this schematic on a pair of 30 amp switching supplies. Since the cathodes of the two diodes are tied together, “cathode case” stud mount diodes are ideal. I used an old heat sink to tie them together. Just keep in mind that all the diode connections need to be isolated from negative or ground. Besides carefully equalizing the voltage on each supply, choose diodes that are capable of handling the amperage. I used two 50 amp stud diodes that I had handy on my switching supplies. Last time I felt them under load, they were cold.
    Parallel power supply conection.jpg
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  10. Mustang 131

    Mustang 131 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    408
    That Chinese crap?? Theres a reason Astron cost $$$.
     
    543_Dallas likes this.
  11. 552fl

    552fl Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    54
    Meanwell is the Chinese power supply don't think I want that
     
  12. Tallman

    Tallman W9WDX Amateur Radio Member, KW4YJ EXTRA class

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,017
    Likes Received:
    3,562
    This is your best option still.
    [​IMG]
     
    S&W357 likes this.
  13. sunbulls

    sunbulls Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    524
    I like to support American made products too, but guess what's inside that Astron...Mostly Chinese parts or parts gleaned from other Asian countries. Items like that should be labeled "assembled in" instead. Japanese products were also considered junk years ago. A short period later they started producing good quality radios. I believe that trend is happening in China, but at this point there's both quality and inferior products coming out of that country. For any product to compete, especially in a global market, some semblance of quality will eventually become a necessity for its survival. "Cheap" often reflects labor costs nowadays and isn't necessarily an indicator of poor quality.
     
    TheRATT likes this.
  14. Mustang 131

    Mustang 131 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    408
    Nope..its sh1t...it will always be sh1t. Keep telling yourself that if it makes you feel better
     
  15. nomadradio

    nomadradio Analog Retentive

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,655
    Likes Received:
    2,393
    Switchmode power supplies almost never need the isolation diodes. The output circuit in those won't need it.

    But a linear-regulated power supply is different. You will need that diode to protect one power supply from the other one if its output voltage is set higher than the other one.

    73
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!