• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Question for amp gurus

Sep 1, 2020
I’m having high swr issues when I put amp inline and power is on. I’m just getting back into cb radio after many years so I’m far from an expert. I have learned just enough to probably be dangerous. lol I’ve read through numerous threads here and I’m thinking it’s a harmonics issue. The amp is a no name 250 that I’m guessing is a knockoff. On high it’s showing around 160 watts output. My setup is with a Cobra 142 gtl with a 3.5w dk and a new Maco V58. Without the amp, I have it tuned to close to 1.2 across all channels. With the amp inline and on, swr jumps up to around 3.

I have read in various places that a low pass filter between the amp and antenna can help with the dirty harmonics of the amp. First question is, is this true? Second question is, if they do indeed help with harmonics, do I want a band pass filter or a low pass filter? ICE makes both kinds of filters for 11 meters and they have a cut off of anything above 30 MHz. Any input will be greatly appreciated!

Link to ICE filter page:
https://www.iceradioproducts.com/filtersrf.html

I tested all jumpers as well as tried various lengths. From my understanding of the research I’ve done, coax length doesn’t really do anything but fool the meter into thinking the swr is good. I tried it anyway with no changes.

Well, you're on the right track.

Best way to see if that amp needs tuning, is to throw the SWR meter in-line - BETWEEN AMP AND RADIO.

Then I'd look into TURNING DOWN the wattage going to that amp.

Each time you turn down the watts going into the amp - then recheck the SWR (FWD to REF each time)- between both the Radio and the AMP.

IF that SWR is not changing - then the problem may be with the amp.