• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Questions with cobra 148gtl finals

chec0

Feb 18, 2007
Massachusetts
Ok now keep in mind that i am a rookie and dont know to much now so be easy on me please :LOL: :LOL:
i have a cobra 148gtl that has been worked on already and its doing 18 watts
ive been reading in a few different places that there not making the 2sc1969 finals anymore is thi correct??? the replacement is the ERF-2030 correct???
now my question is my radio is a singal final right... can i make it a dual final with 2 ERF-2030??? and if i can is there anything else that i need to do this???
and no i wont be doing this im gonna give it to my friend to do but i wanted to come here and asked all you smart CB'rs :LOL:
thanks in advance

The 148 and Uniden Grant xl are single final radio's. Here is the best advise I can give. The 148 / Grant xl are exellent radio's, all they need is a corect tune and alignment with no clipping of any limiters. If you are in the 14-18 watt range leave it. If you want more power get a small amplifier.

I'm not up on the newer mosfet mods, maybe DTB or someone can chime in. I would think a decent Mosfet mod would be in the 50-75 dollar range. This might get you 40 watts er so. If you take that money and buy a used Texas Star Mod V you will be seing right at 100 watts.

checo,

i fully understand the "bug" that bites you when you first start playing with modded radios.
we have all blown up our share.

that radio you have there, if the mic is mounted on the side, is a classic, and is not the radio to experiment with.
go buy a cheap 29ltd and play with it.
done right they can do 40-50 watts.

now, i know you'll hate to hear this, but if you are doing 18 watts; to get another S unit on someones receiver, you'll have to put out
72 watts (4x18).