1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Running the Cable!

Discussion in 'CB Antennas' started by CyberRider, Aug 30, 2018.

  1. CyberRider

    CyberRider New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    19
    Last night I ran the cable for the antenna. Still unsure about exact antenna location, but I know I need to run it from the bed into the cab. I chose to run the cable underneath the cab on the passenger side, up the firewall of the engine compartment and then in through the firewall where all the other wires go.

    Do you see any problems with where and how I ran the antenna cable?


     

  2. Dmans

    Dmans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    173
    Depending on your RF output power and amount of computers/modules in your vehicle you may want to avoid any factory wiring harnesses as much as possible.

    73’s
    David
     
    357magnum and Mudfoot like this.
  3. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    626
    Agreed.................
     
    357magnum likes this.
  4. Dmans

    Dmans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    173
    CyberRider
    A clarification/simplification to my above post.

    If you are using a 4 watt radio with a good SWR match (less than 1.5:1), good quality coax cable and a well grounded antenna mount (see good SWR match above) you should be able to run your coax cable anywhere you like.

    73’s
    David
     
    Tallman and 357magnum like this.
  5. Handy Andy

    Handy Andy Do Your Research First, Then Decide...

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2018
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    626
    Just a tid-bit of advice from a guy that seen this and it does happen...

    Careful with any Zip ties - use wide width ones versus small short and thin ones...

    The Coax can get crushed, too much tension on the Zip tie and the coax can pinch and ruin the 50 ohm impedance by creating a pinch point that changes the spacing of the outer conductor to inner one, you affect the symmetry of the shield to center geometry if you cause kinks, or tight bends or crush the our braid towards the center by a too tight zip tie...you may have a good antenna - but the coax can reflect it's own internal issues and you'll never see a good SWR from the now pinched and crushed - coax section - its' like a kink in a hose to water your lawn, too tight no water gets thru, even a little kink and the water is restricted but even with that, the outer protective sheath of the hose will fail and eventually that hose will develop a leak at that point.

    I've seen this in vehicles even done by the factory that cut into the insulation and cause a major fail short - so even with zips, be careful where you use them and what ties to what - you don't want to have more problems on top of the problems you already have.
     
    Tallman and 5 X 5 like this.
  6. Robb

    Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    10,763
    Likes Received:
    2,432
    Yes. If you are going thru the firewall; then you have to be sure there is no sharp edge that may potentially cut/fray the coax against the edge of the sheet metal. So a grommet of the appropriate size may have to be used. n This is also as true for any power wires you may be bringing thru the fire wall as well. Otherwise, a short may cause a fire.
     
    357magnum likes this.
  7. CyberRider

    CyberRider New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    19
    Thanks for the advice. I was very careful and there are no crimp points in the cable or spots where the cable may be frayed/cut.

    Thank you. I ran the power yesterday so the CB turns on. Mounted the CB in the dash directly under the stereo and connected (and mounted) the external speaker. In fact, while I was running lines I also ran the lines for the wiring harness of my off-road lights which had been previously mounted but not wired-up. Anyway, concerning the CB now the only thing not connected/mounted is the antenna itself.
     
  8. M0GVZ

    M0GVZ Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,374
    Likes Received:
    721
    If you do RF grounding properly and use a fixed mount it should be a non-issue.
     
    357magnum likes this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!