• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Software Defined Radio SDR for 11 Meter

Eldorado828

8-2-8 in the Lonestar state
Feb 21, 2016
The Lonestar State
Sdr is something I'll be adding to the station soon. Until recently it just hadn't caught my attention but now I'm all eyes. Toughest part to me is the software setup on a PC, I'm a truck driver by day so I can really screw up a puter!

The guy in this video had been really resourceful for me getting schooled.

Which leads me to this mobile device installation that seems much easier and I have a 10" Samsung tablet to do the job.

I'm all ears for ideas and recommendations.

I have quite a few SDRs and while you can use them with an Android and a OTG cable it isn't the best way to go. I use Linux for all things SDR but if you are not familiar with Linux getting everything setup can be a bit daunting. One good option is to use a "Live" Linux image like this one:

That lets you boot your PC and run Linux with all the SDR tools ready to go. I have not used it but it has all the tools you would want and should 'just work'.

I have quite a few SDRs and while you can use them with an Android and a OTG cable it isn't the best way to go. I use Linux for all things SDR but if you are not familiar with Linux getting everything setup can be a bit daunting. One good option is to use a "Live" Linux image like this one:

That lets you boot your PC and run Linux with all the SDR tools ready to go. I have not used it but it has all the tools you would want and should 'just work'.
Thank you sir. A lot of that I'm ignorant to but I'll have to figure it out. I appreciate your tips and will be using them soon. I've ordered the dongle, the so239 to sema connector, and the fm filter. I've got various antennas to try with it so that'll be an experiment in itself.