• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Superstar 121: No FM TX Audio

Judge

Dec 9, 2008
Hi there. Bear with me, as I am quite new to all of this. :)

I've acquired a second-hand Superstar 121 radio, (PCB EPT120113Z). While AM TX audio works perfectly fine, FM TX audio is pretty much non-existant.

While using a spectrum analyzer, I adjusted the FM deviation (VR5) with no change. Using a nearby SDR receiver, with the volume and gain at its highest, the FM TX audio is extraordinarily faint.

Upon inspecting the radio, it's been "worked on." TR32 AMC limiter is gone, J4 clipped(?), R205, R206 clipped, orange wire soldered to PCB component side of D84 (going to RF gain?).

Wondering if someone can guide me into next steps/direction in troubleshooting the FM TX audio issue?

Thank you!

Attachments

• IMG_8880.JPG
    IMG_8880.JPG
    3.5 MB · Views: 19

Thank you. We're on the same page. I've already soldered back some of the clipped components. At least the ones I could find. I will need to replace the AMC transistor but I'm not sure if I have the part on hand.

I'd really like FM audio to work on this radio, and I definitely want it back to the factory configuration.

Reactions: Enterprise312ok
the wire soldered to the top of d84 is more than likely a factory item. watch what you are doing or you will mess up the radio even farther. I have 2 of these radios myself and they have a wire soldered in the same location. most people pull the limiter on this radio to get more audio from it since they are low using the vr to adjust it. with the limiter in place you will get about 60 to 80% modulation.