• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

swr

shadow

Aug 4, 2009
hi everyone, newbie here,

ok, its a bit of a broad question, so please ask whatever u like.
i have a cb in my car, with a 1.5 metre whip antenna, ive made a radial ground plane to help the signal out, my swr readings are a bit high, ive adjusted my way, so it reads about 1.1 on fwd, and 1.5 on rev.
i have a magnetic mount on the roof of my car.

questions:
should my fwd when i set be in the red at "set, then on rev it should drop to about 1.1-1.5

how big should the radials be on the ground plane

is it worth putting a round wire from the mag mount to the chassis of the car

will ferrite beads help if i put on the antenna coaxial cable, i have on the power leads.
thats all for now, any help would be appreciated

thanks

shadow,
I have a feeling I'm not understanding you as well as I should. Any chances of a picture of your antenna? Or just describe your antenna in more detail?
- 'Doc

first of all, you dont need that ground radial thingy. those are just advertising hyped junk.

try testing without it and see what happens.

the other thing im thinking of has to do with how you are measuring your SWR.

what kind of SWR meter are you using (post a link to a pic if you can), and do you know how to properly calibrate this meter?

later,
LC

shadow,
The link you posted shows a common type of base loaded mobile antenna. I would think it should work about as well as any other of the same overall length.