• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

SWR'ing a K40

Dal

Jul 12, 2016
I am a novice so please don't tear me a new one if this is a daft question...

I have a President Grant II running straight out to a K40 antenna. This rig is mounted in a 1976 Mini Clubman Estate and I have the K40 roof mounted at the front (reusing the hole formerly occupied by the car radio's antenna). No amp or any of that shizzle.

I use the SWR meter in the radio for my readings and I have not modified the coax on the K40.

With the radio in 'stock' mode, the SWR reading on UKFM channels was a little on the hot side, but workable (Ch1 reading a little over 1:1, Ch20 at 1.5 and Ch40 just under 2). My antenna is as short as it will go before cropping the whip.

Then I switch the radio into Export mode and I test UKFM again to find Ch1 = 1.5, Ch20 = 2 and Ch40 = 3. Giving me only half the band but with a bit more power.

In export mode, I can freeband, so I hunted around to find the upper and lower bound frequencies the K40 will work with (where the SWR hits 2). The frequency range appears to be 26.735MHz - 27.74125MHz.

So this setup is only giving me a little over 1MHz of usable frequency range. Seems odd as the K40 is supposed to be rated 26-30MHz and should give fairly consistent SWR (if the marketing is to be believed?).

I'm thinking of adding an antenna tuner, but not sure if I'm just 'band-aiding' a more fundamental problem. Any help / advice would be appreciated!

Seems odd as the K40 is supposed to be rated 26-30MHz and should give fairly consistent SWR (if the marketing is to be believed?).