1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Texas Star DX500 and high SWR

Discussion in 'Amplifiers' started by 2RT307, Oct 12, 2012.

1. 2RT307

2RT307 Sr. Member

I have a Texas Star DX500 (non variable) amp that I have been running for about 6 years now, trouble free. Recently, the amplfier would throw the SWR's off the scale when turned on. I have checked all grounds, changed coax jumpers and coax to antenna, checked the antenna mount, etc, and found no issues. I also bought a new meter, and it reads high as well. Took the amp to a local tech, and he saw the same thing on his bench.

He does not have a spectrum analyzer, but said it looked to be throwing harmonics out and this was causing the high SWR's. He could not find any caps or resistors that were blown or out of spec. Nothing appears heated/burned inside the amp. The matching network in the amp tested ok. Not sure where else to look, and I am trying to have this fixed locally to avoid shipping charges. Any ideas where else to look for the problem causing the high SWR's?

RT307

2. AudioShockwav

AudioShockwav Extraterrestrial Admin
    Staff Member

You may need to replace of the 10uf chokes and the 25 ohm 5 watt sandbar resistors in your amp.
    It seems that Texas Star has recently made a change in these because after time they start to go high in resistance.

Contact Mike At Home Page

He Is a great tech on these amps, and can help you troubleshoot many common problems.
    You should check the bias on you amp with the amp keyed, with no drive.
    He has instructions on his troubleshooting page that tells you how to do this.

This subject came up on Bennies board @ cbtricks.com

The problem was the same