• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Trouble with used 5btv and how I solved it. Well I hope anyway.

Alan Blackmon

Apr 11, 2017
Boise Idaho
This may be a bit long and drawn out. Sorry for that but I will also be posting some photos of my project. I am new to the hobby. I am pretty excited about building my first station as I am sure many have been, are, and will be in the future. This is for those now and in the future who may run across the kind of problem I had with my used antenna. Some day some guy, like me, who is putting in his vertical will have a lot of questions. I am posting this in hopes of helping out with that project.

I have purchased used from a friend of mine who is still in the hobby. The purchase is for a Icom IC-701. It is an older unit but taking in to another friend in the hobby who does repair work on radios both ameture and CB determined that the 701 is in working order. The purchase included the IC-701 with power supply. A manual tuner from Barker & Williamson model VS300A. Also was a Hustler 5btv. Cost for all was $200. I was pleased he was so generous.

So I began the project of installing the 5btv. I was giving this project a week. It took much longer than that. I am greatful my wife was so patient with this. We are both retired and enjoy our hobbies. She did a couple of small lap quilts while I took nearly 3 weeks to get this antenna in.

First I laid a field of radials. 15 or so went in initially. Then I poured a pad for the antenna.
IMG_2393.jpeg