• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Tube amp help...

T23

Apr 17, 2010
I am new to tube amps but after following a guidde on how to tune one. my amp gets less than half is rated output. It is a Lafayette ha-260 I believe its a one output tube type for VHF. There is a second tube that's smaller. Don't know if its a driver tube or for the relay cirxut. I have a 19 amp supply connected to it.
The amp is suppose to put out 60 Watts and only puts out less than 30.
Could the tube be weak?
Any thoughts?

T23

I am new to tube amps but after following a guidde on how to tune one. my amp gets less than half is rated output. It is a Lafayette ha-260 I believe its a one output tube type for VHF. There is a second tube that's smaller. Don't know if its a driver tube or for the relay cirxut. I have a 19 amp supply connected to it.
The amp is suppose to put out 60 Watts and only puts out less than 30.
Could the tube be weak?
Any thoughts?

T23

What 2 meter radio and input power are you driving it with? If your driving and tuning it correctly and still showing low power the most likely problem with a 2 meter amp that old is the tube.

I am driving it with 5 Watts out of a Kenwood tm-241a. My radio can also be set to 10 Watts out or even 50. The eBay auction said 60 Watts out tested works as it should.

What's weird is a local regular I talk to almost everyday said my audio was different with the tube amp and I didnt even ask about my audio quality. He said it sounded more warm and smooth.

T23

I am driving it with 5 Watts out of a Kenwood tm-241a. My radio can also be set to 10 Watts out or even 50. The eBay auction said 60 Watts out tested works as it should.