1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
This forum does not allow a single user to have more than one username. If anyone wants to change their username contact an admin and it will be done. Multiple accounts belonging to the same member will be deleted without warning.

Who adds chokes on inside power leads for radios without them?

Discussion in 'General CB Services Discussion' started by Big Kahuna, Feb 24, 2021.

  1. Big Kahuna

    Big Kahuna Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    1,521
    Was watching a Lester video tonight and he pointed out the McKinley didn't have any chokes on the inside power input which I hadn't noticed before. I know the Lincoln and Richard have them so surprised they didn't bother with them on the McKinley (or the Uniden 980). Even the cheap Stryker 94 has something inside.



    He installs JW Miller 5230-RCs -

    Just made me wonder if anyone else here ever bothers to add them when they notice a radio doesn't have them?
     
    Eldorado828 likes this.

  2. Eldorado828

    Eldorado828 8-2-8 Amarillo Tx Standing By

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Funny, I watched that video a few days ago and thought the same thing.
     
    Big Kahuna likes this.
  3. M0GVZ

    M0GVZ Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,714
    Likes Received:
    1,409
    What difference do you think they'll make given how small and pathetic they usually are? They're literally there to keep the EMC compliance people happy, they're literally of no use for stopping power wire borne interference. Much better to get a large snap on 31 or ideally 43 mix ferrite and wind several turns of the power wire through it. That will actually do something.

    Back to the video, another radio ruined. No RF shielding at all between the amp he installed and the mainboard of the rig and no RF shielding on that amp kit he installed either.
     
    #3 M0GVZ, Feb 27, 2021
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2021
    Cam Tetzlaff and sp5it like this.
  4. Handy Andy

    Handy Andy Do Your Research First, Then Decide...

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2018
    Messages:
    4,284
    Likes Received:
    5,120
    It's a cost to performance hit, many radios used to have a power choke, nowadays they seem to have a lot of them without the same device...

    You asked a great question which focuses right back on China and their sheer desire to cheapen the radios yet markup for the highest prices the market will bear...

    From just a few years ago too - this montage is from radios of only several years past...

    upload_2021-2-27_17-49-26.png

    Arrows point of Power supply chokes for power feeds.
    McKinley has none - so the effort of chokes may be lost on the sheer ignorance
    of the consumer. Most wouldn't notice it missing,
    but the rest of those that own one in a mobile setup do complain about noise.​
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!