• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Yaesu VX-8R..can't hit any repeaters at all...

N0VYO

May 22, 2009
Hi...so I am new to the VX-8 but I am trying to hit a few of the local repeaters near me. I have sucessfully hit all these with my VX-3 (less wattage) so I am failing to understand why I can't reach out on the VX-8.
I have played around with antenna's as well. Currently using a Diamond SRH-999. Let's choose one repeater in the ARRL guide..This is the reapeater I am trying to reach most often.
Seattle PSGR 146.9600 (Open System) 103.5
I have ensured my radio is set as below...
* Repeater shift set at -RPT (Menu #75)
* Repeater Shift Freq set at 0.600MHz (Menu #76)
* RPT ARS set to "On" (Menu #74)
* SQL Type is set to "Tone" (Menu #95)
* Tone Freq is set to 103.5Hz
So When I push the PTT the TX light comes on showing I am transmitting on full power, but I can never seem to hit the repeaters..even the close by one's. So I am thinking the radio is somehow not activating the repeater through the tone or tone freq. You fella's have any ideas?
Not sure if it makes a difference, but I am also running the GPS unit attached directly to the radio. I have been able to so simplex, so I know that at least works...Any help is appreciated...

Hi..yes it is set for -RPT which is what is listed in the 2009-2010 ARRL Repeater Directory. I used the same settings on my VX-3 and was able to connect...

Do you have a small watt meter that you can put inline? Perhaps there's something wrong with your device and it's not putting out full power?

Do you have a small watt meter that you can put inline? Perhaps there's something wrong with your device and it's not putting out full power?

I do not have a watt meter...but I can run simplex for a reasonable distance, so I think it is a settting I have wrong...