• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

148gtl question

jbo

Sep 27, 2005
Oscoda MI
I am sorry to be a pain in a$$ about stuff but I am not sure why but my uniden 76xl talks farther than my 148gtl malaysa that I just picked up off ebay. It is a mint 148 that has a peak and tune on it and has the extra channels but for me it sucks. I have called for a radio check on 19 and haven't heard anything but on my 76xl I can call and always pick someone up. What is gioing on? Also talking with a buddy tonight and I was on 19 am and for some reason he could hear me on 12 am like I was right next to him. I am new to CB in general and trying to learn as much as I can but this is buging the hell out of me. The 148 is supposed to be a better radio but the 76xl seems to me to be the better radio. I also can't get the 148 to tune in on ssb. Help!!! any comments are great.

Your 148 is a fine radio jbo .....this is what one can exspect from Ebay from time to time )-: .....it sounds off frequancy and can use an alighnment or maybe even more ? ....your in luck !! it fires up transmits and receives !! .....it needs a good doctor jbo .......in this case I would say your 76XL would appear to be the better radio (-: (that's obvious in your case) Your 148 should be able to be fixed jbo and work the way it should........IM sorry for your problems dude .I've been there done that concerning Ebay ...I would like to think that your 148 could well be an easy fix , good luck to you.

Hi JBO,
The transmitter in each of those two radios should have nearly identical range. You mentioned "extras". Would "extra" channels be part of the picture?

Best clue you provide is that your buddy hears you just fine on the wrong channel. That means that it transmits okay. Just not on the channel you think.