• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

2m and 70cm base set up

Mac83

Jun 10, 2011
I am totally new to ham radio. Even though I have had my tech license for
about 8 years I have never gotten a radio or been on the air.

I live in NH and the local amateur radio club has 2 repeaters on 2m 145.33/ 100.00hz
and 70cm 443.550/ 136.5 hz

What does the 100 hz and 136.5 hz mean?

I'm looking into setting up a dual band radio as a base, but there seems to be so many radios out there I find my self lost in what I should get.
Then I'll need some type of antenna and I'm lost on it, if they even make a dual band antenna for 2m and 70cm.

Looking to spend about $200-250.

Any one have any suggestions on how to start looking and what type of radio and antenna might be best for me?

The frequencies shown in Hz are the audio tones you need to transmit in order to access the repeater. It can keep just anybody from being able to use the machine. A lot of repeaters have them. If you think you're in range of the repeater but can't access it, it can be as simple as trying different tones to see if one of them is the "magic key". Most VHF/UHF stuff built in the last 20 years will have tones built in - you'd just have to check the manual.

As far as what equipment you should get - that's YOUR decision. Check features, compare prices. There are several dual band antennas that should work quite well for you.

Finally, you say there's a local club? You should be a member and have one of them take a look at where your station will be. THEY should be glad to help with all of your questions.

Reactions: 1 person