• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

BEST 11 Meter omni antenna: Performance vs Strength vs Cost

unit_399

EL CAPO
Jun 17, 2008
ALEJANDRIA, COLOMBIA SA
I'm no expert on antennas. If I need one, I usually build it. Since there was not much local traffic around here, I always operated on the flat side cause it's best for Dxing. But, cb has caught on here (my fault), and I need a new vertical omni since my trusty 35 year old A99 finally succumbed to the UV and high winds here on the mountain.
Whatever I buy has to be a good performer and strong enough to handle the wind I mentioned earlier. It'll have to come from the US, since there aren't any cb shops here. So price is IMPORANT. Amazon has a Starduster listed for $159, but shipping is an extra 50 bucks !!
Any suggestions ???
Thanx.

Any suggestions ???
Thanx.

See the thread Hombrew Co-phased ground plane antennas. And build that one, I love mine, I had an A99 years ago and in my opinion the Co-phased antennas beat the A99 hands down. The only thing I'd do differently is use 102 whips for radials and all. I plan to get 4 more 102 whips to use as radials in the near future. It doesn't have to be on a rotor either, mine isn't and I can talk any direction I need to. It's a sturdy setup,.mine has been in 55 mph wind and had now issues. If You feel like building another antenna I highly recommend the Co-phased antennas using 102 whips for everything. I think you'd be happy with the way they preform.

direct fed wide banded and cheap, built mine out of 1/2 inch emt conduit
withstands hurricanes here in Florida

Reactions: BJ radionut