• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Buying a new radio

347boiseidaho

Jan 6, 2019
I'm new to CB radio and I am currently running a barefoot Uniden BC980SSB. It's been peaked and turned by a guy in my home town and I get great reports on how it sounds. My antenna is a Wilson 5000 fender mount. I am addicted to shooting skip and as a result I ordered a custom BC980SSB with a 250 watt box from Lester's Custom Trucks. Anyway my question is; Did I go through the right builder as I'm into everything for a pretty penny and I want to know that I made the right decision. I did a lot of research before I purchased the radio and I feel like I made the right choice. Thanks for your help and your opinions.

well...should have asked that question "BEFORE" you placed the order!....Little late now don't ya think? :whistle:
You're right I should have posted the question before I made the purchase. However I was not a member of the forum then. I didn't know that there were forums like this as I'm not on the internet a lot. Like I said I'm new to the CB hobby and I'm still wet behind the ears so to speak. Anyway thanks for your opinion.

Reactions: 357magnum
I would be interested in seeing the output of your radio on a spectrum analyzer.
I'm sure you did not know that most of the watts coming out of your radio are what I call ghost watts. The reason I call them ghost watts is because they are not going to received by any CB radio. A waste of money on your part and probably going to burn your final transistor out.

Try it out. Find what pleasure available. Seriously.

Lesscomm stays in business.

Now, if it’s not what you wanted, start over. I’d bet everyone here has at least once (naw, A DOZEN TIMES!).