• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Coaxial Cable Length

Cackalacky Kid

Jul 19, 2019
Let me start with a greetings to all. I am new to HAM and this forum. I am in the process of setting up a RS and an antenna system. Back in the day I was heavily into CB radio. To receive/transmit a good signal there was an optimum length of cable that connected the antenna to the radio. I remember setting up my CB system in my Jeep and I had coax routed all over the floor board under the carpet. Is there an optimal length of coax to run from the antenna to the transceiver? I am running LMR400 coax from a Yaesu FT-450D to a Tram 1481 vertical antenna. Thanks.

[URL='https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004SHVZBO/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1']
[/URL]

First Welcome and Congrat's on your new ticket!
Now as to the TRAM vertical and usage on the FT-450D rig. What did you plan on using this antenna for?
The FT-450D is a HF/6m transceiver.
The Tram 1481 is a 2m and 440 (VHF/UHF) antenna.
The're really is nothing compatible between them.
So question what class license did you get? Tech/General?
What bands of operation, do you have interest in.
Many here to help!!
All the Best
Gary/W9FNB