• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

cobra 2000 gtl counter issue

DT307

Nov 21, 2019
brief history i am a kitchen tech from the uk but dont see many of these and no point banging my head against the wall if a common issue .....everything was going fine and i sold this radio for a friend and about a month later was told of a problem with the counter on ssb reads 33.3333 rx and tx and on am rx its 25.5333 and am tx its back to 33.3333. (7.8mhz difference )
whats been done ......counter recap and the service mod to ic512 no change
traced the 7.8mhz through the fet tr516/517 and it is getting amplified and looks clean.
following on from there through ic507 and a pulsed output is present on pin 8 of ic505.
traced the 34mhz again fet/ic512 to pin 8 if ic505 with about the same pulsed amplitude as the 7.8mhz sig.
also on the same pin i have the sum and minus of both frequencies at a much much lower p2p level.
now moving on on pin 12 of ic505 i have a good 34mhz pulsed signal but the 7.8mhz is there but is quite low and in turn low on the input pin9 of the decade counter ic506 .
thats as far as i went fault finding before i wanted to smash it lol
ps the 9v and 5v rails working.
thanks for looking and i hope some 1 seen this problem 1000's of times and say its part ****

regards DT307

brief history i am a kitchen tech from the uk but dont see many of these and no point banging my head against the wall if a common issue .....everything was going fine and i sold this radio for a friend and about a month later was told of a problem with the counter on ssb reads 33.3333 rx and tx and on am rx its 25.5333 and am tx its back to 33.3333. (7.8mhz difference )
whats been done ......counter recap and the service mod to ic512 no change