• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Courier Spartan SSB

Bl4ckC4t

Jul 18, 2018
I am relatively new to the CB thing, but have recently gotten my hands on an old Spartan. Quite a bit of bleed over and seems like the squelch knob is backwards (lower static to the left) I am curious if anyone knows how to tune these up to make them work amazing or if I should leave it alone.

(I get good radio checks when I'm up to 1/2 mile on a trucks 6)

I do hear a lot of skip around me, but cant reach out and respond and I can't seem to dial in well enough on ssb.

The antenna is a make-or-break item in a base station.

You can hear a lot of stuff with a poor and inefficient antenna. But the transmit range will stink.

Height is might. The higher it is, the more effective it will be.

General rule, the larger the antenna the more effective it tends to be. You could make a simple "weeping willow" ground plane from four 9-foot long pieces of wire and a bracket with a coax socket on it. Just need a support to hang the top of the vertical element and a way to stretch the three 'ground plane' wires out at 45 degrees. Manufactured vertical antennas that are 18, 21 feet or longer tend to be more efficient than the home-made weeping willow, or one made commercially from metal rods.