• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Dipole on the living room carpet?

Bundy

Tired and broke
Feb 16, 2009
NE Corner
If I start up a base again I am forced to use a dipole antenna. (which I have no experience with) From everything I have read the preferred location is to string it up in the attic. I'm on the first level of a 2-story apt. building so that is not an option. Could I just lay the dipole down against the wall and hide it behind the couch and desk? I would imagine this would not work at all but this is my last resort. Thanks.:unsure:

give it a shot i use to have one in the house but pc's tvs had issues with RFI with that said id find a way to mount it corner to corner if thats possible in the room your setting it up i ran mine inverted v on the wall for a year and it did well on a barefoot rig i could talk to the truck stops 2 and 4 miles down the road

i used a picture hanger on the center of the wall cliped the apex to it ran the legs down corner to corner and made contacts AFTER TUNED IT :D just experiment with it its the best way to find out how it wants to be setup in the house for example the wall on the inner most part of the house would not get out but the wall next to outter part of the house did i dont know why hope you get it goin and have fun

Reactions: 1 person
If you were on the 2nd floor it may work somewhat but don't expect much if anything out of it on the bottom floor on the floor. Off the floor would be the better choice.

Reactions: 2 people