1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
This forum does not allow a single user to have more than one username. If anyone wants to change their username contact an admin and it will be done. Multiple accounts belonging to the same member will be deleted without warning.

Dirland CB radio products

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by 43Echo695, May 26, 2009.

  1. 43Echo695

    43Echo695 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can anyone tell me the origin of Dirland CB radio products? I'm sure it's a European company, but where is the gear manufactured?

    I'm in the market for a new 20A+ power supply. The other choice is a Manson: Manson Engineering Industrial Ltd. which could be badged differently elsewhere.

    The Manson is Chinese made and a switchmode. It's weighs half as much as the Dirland, looks fancy pants, but is twice the price. The Dirland is a regulated I think, it weighs about 11 Lb and is styled in the traditional sense.



    I'm leaning towards the Dirland, particularly if it's made in the EU.

    Cheers,

    43 Echo 695:unsure:
     

  2. Wire Weasel

    Wire Weasel Senior Moment

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,789
    Likes Received:
    382
    Hi 43E,

    Nah there aren't any CBs-Exports being made in Europe. Everything is from Asia and there only a small handful of manufacturer's left. These company's make everything and then stick (whoever's) name on them.

    Dirland Telecom is out of one of those Scandinavian countries like Holland ect...I can't read the language. The early Dirlands were Superstars, which tended to be cheaper rigs. I don't care for them.

    Go with a Ranger / Magnum / Galaxy / Connex ..... you'll do fine. Good luck

    [​IMG]
     
  3. jazzsinger

    jazzsinger Bullshit Buster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    320
    Dirland is a french cb importer,not sure if they are still importing radios as I haven't seen any new ones come on the market in the past few years.I'm pretty sure the radio manufacturer for them is/was ranger rci.I'm not sure who manufactures psu's for them.CRT france is another french import company who sell similar stuff.

    their websites are below:

    bienvenue sur le site officiel de Dirland SA

    http://crtfrance.free.fr/

    hope that helps.
     
  4. jazzsinger

    jazzsinger Bullshit Buster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    320
    manson psu's are branded manson,maas,sharmans,powertech and probably many more besides.
     
  5. Shioda

    Shioda Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    49
    You are correct. Ranger is the manufacturer
     
  6. 43Echo695

    43Echo695 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks Jazzsinger,

    I'm still undecided about the power supply.

    The Dirland has the transformer and is pretty heavy.

    The Manson, and its derivatives are switchmode, and much lighter. But I've read that switchmodes can be electrically noisy.

    It's to power a barefoot HF rig (for now).

    I've seen others branded Avair. They are all very cheap, but methinks nasty.

    43 Echo 695
     
  7. sidewinder202

    sidewinder202 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    dirland ss3900black

    hello gentlemen i happen to own two of the dirland ss3900s they are far better radios than the old off the shelf superstars its has more features and have much better front ends than the old superstar basic design is the same they were marketed in france and canada not in the us although they did get across the border i dont beleive that the newer prodects from dirland are even associated with the former distibution company based in neice france in the 80s and early 90si wonder if anybody could help ,,the radio has a switch that is labeled DFB not on the superstar. seems to only do any thing on cw ,, any ideas ? thats my two cents
     
  8. jazzsinger

    jazzsinger Bullshit Buster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    320
  9. sidewinder202

    sidewinder202 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    dfb

    yeah it doesnt do anythign but make the audio garbled on am fm and ssb not sure what its for it isnt even listed in the owners manual as to what it does .. i ll keep my ears open maybe its for something else i havent heard of ,,, thanks guys
     
  10. jetdriver1955

    jetdriver1955 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    The original poster is asking about the Dirland Power Supply not their radios!!!!
    I’m also asking about them.
    Dirland CB Radio Regulated Power Supply.
    NOT the radios!!
     
  11. jon666

    jon666 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    793
    hope there power supply is better than their radios
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  12. Pacman

    Pacman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello 43 Echo 695
    So I was just reading your post. I happen to have such a power supply (22amp) but most of the wires have been pulled off their connection lugs and now it will be difficult to determine where which wire goes where.
     
  13. Justme

    Justme Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    622
    Modern switched mode supply's are good, my old SEC 1223 is 10 years old and (ab)used over that time, silent no noise and running a 100 watt ham radio for years.
    Retired that one with the FT 847, bought FT 991A and Nissei NS2230D 20 amp switcher with LCD voltage and amp on the front anderson power poles as well the usual banana plug outlet on the back, silent as well, no noise 28 amp continuous and 30 surge for 85 Euro....
    Made for the EU market CE specifications does what it has to do silently.
    Can't build a transformer PSU for that, even if it lasts 10 years dump it in the bin, buy a new one.
    repairing switched mode supplies cost more as just buying a new one.
    Came with 2 year full warranty as well, yaesu FT991A 3 year full warranty.
     
  14. 743SEPA

    743SEPA Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    93
    My samlex 1223 won't run my 450d.
     
  15. Justme

    Justme Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    622
    it should, it ran my FT 847 100 watt rig for a decade without problems, max amp is 23 amps, the 100 watt sets use between 17 to 18 amp.
    My new FT991A runs 17 amp flat out with 100 watt FM carrier on HF, 11 amp with 55 watts out on 2 meter.
    THe FT 100 mobile set on 100 watts did 18 amps.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!